Part of the narrow-gauge route that once linked the iron mines near Hunedoara - the Ardelean mining railway - can be walked, including through the longest tunnel in the area.
Distance 4.6 km
The trail is signposted at the beginning, then just follow the path. The path starts at the edge of the village of Cățănaș and climbs gently, offering interesting views of the dense forests that gave the area its name - Pădurenilor (Forests) Land.
The railway line experienced its heyday around 1900, originally connecting the Retișoara (Ghelari) plant with Govăjdia and later extended to the ironworks in Hunedoara. In total, there were 16 km of mixed-use railway lines - both for passengers (miners) and ore.
The last transport ran here in 2008, after which the railway and the locomotives were dismantled and sold as scrap. Today, only the wooden sleepers can be seen on the embankment. It is also possible to go through all three tunnels on the route, the longest being the almost 800-metre tunnel at the end of this route. The trail connects the village of Cățănaș with the village of Zlaști.
The path is frequented by both curious hikers as well as cyclists and motorcyclists.
To go through the big tunnel you need a headlamp/flashlight.